Capilano Bridge Park

April 10, 2019

The tourist attractions at both Victoria and Vancouver are expensive, but there the one place I felt was completely worth the money was the Capilano Bridge Park. Initially, I had planned to combine it with a visit to Grouse Mountain, but further research indicated it would be too rushed to enjoy either place. So, I dropped Grouse Mountain in favour of the park because it seemed to have more to do in this season, and the name said park. When you have five children in your party, one only 18 months old, it makes a difference.

 

It is a rainy day and the LO is napping so we opt to stay back in the parking lot while the others go ahead. When she wakes up, we are still doubtful. Then it stops raining. There is a light drizzle,but we decide to take our chances. I load the LO on my back and wake my way to the famous bridge.  I’ve been on suspension rope bridges before, am fairly stable and not afraid of heights so I was not expecting any thrills. However, it’s a whole different experience with a baby on your back and an umbrella in one hand. Unlike the rickety suspension bridges of my past, sometimes with a plank missing, open sides and just ropes for railings, this one is wobbly but undoubtedly safe.450 feet below, the Capilano river gushes through the evergreens. On the other side is the treetop adventure that takes guests 100 feet up in the coastal rainforest. You walk through the dark green foliage on narrow walkways attached to old-growth trees. At the other end of the bridge, starts the tree top walk and the real adventure. We climbed into the trees and walked through the lush green canopy.  The best part is that the viewing platforms are attached to an innovative tree collar system that is adjustable and moveable and has no nails or bolts penetrating into the trees. No trees were harmed in the making of this walkway. Yay!! At the start of the walk, a park official gave the kids scavenger hunt sheets and it was as much fun for the adults as it was for the kids. We are a mad family like that.

The last piece was the Cliffwalk –  a cantilevered and suspended walkway jutting out from the granite cliff face above Capilano River. In some sections you are walking on glass, so you can see the canyon far below.

IMG_20190410_161557.jpg

To sum it up, everyone in our motley crew, from 18 m to almost 70 years, loved this park. As for me,  at the end of all the climbing and walking, with a baby on my back, I realized I truly am stronger than I think!

Leave a comment