Daffodils

I first came across this flower on a winter night in Delhi. Its fragrance, warm and heady, heavy in the cold still air, drew me straight to the seller. I made a few enquires and found out it was called nargis. A few google searches, and I found its English name – daffodil.

...and then my heart with pleasure fills and dances with the daffodils

…and then my heart with pleasure fills and dances with the daffodils

This simple wild flower is often overlooked. In the United States, it blooms around the same time as the cherry blossoms. Everybody goes cherry blossom viewing, but no one goes daffodil watching in particular. Few pause to admire them as they toss their golden heads, and flutter and dance in the breeze.

This post is my tribute to this elegant harbinger of spring.

 

Leave a Reply

